## **Request for Coverage**

Will City Council Join the Governance Committee in Thumbing their Noses at Citizens this Thursday?

When & Where: Thursday, November 3, 2016 at 9:00 a.m. at City Hall Complex, 105 Main Plaza GEAA members and others will also address Council at Citizens to Be Heard at 6:pm on November 2<sup>nd</sup>.

What: City Council to vote to approve Governance Committee Recommendations for Slate of Six Appointments to the Planning Commission - Item #15 of City Council A Session Agenda Appointing Kacy Cigarroa, Christopher C. Garcia, June R. Kachtik, Andrew M. Ozuna; Reappointing George W. Peck to the Planning Commission for an unexpired term of office to expire October 6, 2018; and appointing Casey J. Whittington for an unexpired term of office to expire October 6, 2017.

Reflecting concerns voiced by their constituents, several City Council representatives have voiced support for diversifying the City Planning Commission to make it more representative of citizens' interests and less dominated by vested interests. On October 19<sup>th</sup>, however, four members of the <u>City Council Governance</u> <u>Committee</u> voted for a slate of candidates for Planning Commission that will guarantee continued dominance by vested interests. District 8 Councilman Ron Nirenberg cast the lone dissenting vote.

Originally scheduled for consideration of the Neighborhoods and Livability Committee, recommendations for Planning Commission applicants were instead considered by the Governance Committee by direction from Mayor Taylor. District 1 Councilman Roberto Treviño had submitted a CCR for Reforming the Planning Commission that proposed consideration of an ordinance amending the composition of the Planning Commission to eleven members, excluding ex-officio members, such that each member is appointed by each Council District and the Mayor. The CCR was on the Governance Committee agenda for discussion on October 19<sup>th</sup> but was tabled. It appears that the Council will vote on the appointments without considering this request.

The slate approved by the Governance Committee includes reappointment of <u>George Peck</u>, who was among the six Planning Commission members who voted to gut the SA Tomorrow Sustainability Plan by removing the Dark Skies and Impervious Cover recommendations. In voting for this slate, the majority overlooked some incredibly well qualified candidates who would, we believe, consider what is best for our City rather than what is best for developers and builders.

GEAA recommends appointment of any of the following individuals for the six available slots on the Planning Commission to be filled by a vote of the entire City Council:

Brian J. Erickson (District 9), Barbara Witte-Howell (District 1), Malyya Sindu (District 2), Eleanor Sprowl (District 8), June Kachtik (District 8), Jack Guerra (District 10), Steve Hixon (District 8), Pedro Martinez (District 1)

"We were stunned when the above mentioned were passed over in favor of candidates with far less to their credit." Said GEAA Executive Director, Annalisa Peace, "Except for Ms. Kachtik, it appears that qualifications that most impressed the majority of the Governance Committee were how closely tied these individuals are to the industries they are charged with regulating."

The Planning Commission has authority in shaping the future of our City through governance of the built environment. The Greater Edwards Aquifer Alliance and its local member organizations are urging citizens to send a message to City Council representatives requesting that they disregard the slate presented by the Governance Committee in favor of selecting applicants who will represent our citizens and neighborhoods.