

Dear GEAA members and friends,

This November, ten seats on the fifteen member Edwards Aquifer Authority (EAA) Board are up for election. The districts are:

<u>District 1</u> – Bexar County (incumbent, Carol Patterson)

<u>District 3</u> – Bexar County (incumbent, Susan Hughes)

<u>District 5</u> – Bexar County (incumbent, Ron Ellis)

<u>District 6</u> – Bexar County (incumbent, Deborah Carington – appointed

to fill a vacant position)

<u>District 7</u> – Bexar County (incumbent, Enrique Valdivia)

<u>District 8</u> – Comal County (incumbent Kathleen Krueger – appointed to

fill a vacant position)

<u>District 9</u> – Parts of Comal & Guadalupe counties (incumbent, Ronald J. Walton)

<u>District 11</u> – Parts of Caldwell & Hays counties (incumbent, Amy Lea S.J. Akers)

<u>District 13</u> – Parts of Atascosa & Medina counties (incumbent, Luanna Buckner – current Chair)

<u>District 15</u>– Uvalde County (incumbent, Rader Gilleland)

Click on the District number to see a map of the District boundaries. <u>View an interactive map of EAA districts here.</u>

Give the importance of the mission of the EAA, we have been disappointed by the board's lack of initiative during the past few years in enacting regulations to protect the Edwards Aquifer. While some of the incumbents have been recently appointed to fill vacant positions, others who have served for many years have failed to achieve measures that we believe are essential to protecting water quality for the Edwards Aquifer.

To determine where your representative stands on these issues, we urge you to contact the <u>Edwards Aquifer Authority Board members</u> who are up of reelection and ask them these three questions:

- Do you support a prohibition on Texas Pollution Discharge Elimination Systems (direct discharge of sewage effluent into waterways) on the Edwards Aquifer Contributing Zone and, if so, would you be willing to support the passage of <u>legislation</u> to this effect during the 2019 legislative session?
- Do you support a <u>prohibition on the use of PAH sealants</u> within the EAA jurisdiction?
- Do you support limiting impervious cover on the Edwards Aquifer Recharge Zone?

If they do not answer yes to all three questions, we would urge you to consider running to replace them or supporting a candidate who is willing to be proactive about protecting our Aquifer.

The Edwards Aquifer Authority does not make it easy to contact the Board members directly. No information is available on the web site regarding how you may contact your representative. We recommend addressing an e-mail message to your representative in the subject line, and send it to Jennifer Wong Esparza at jesparza@edwardsaquifer.org. Phone calls can be directed to Board members via the EAA switchboard at 210-222-2204.

Filing for candidates opened on Monday, July 23rd. Prospective candidates must file with the EAA at its 900 E. Quincy St. offices by 5 p.m. on Aug. 20 to be added to the Nov. 6 ballot. We were surprised that this is all we found on the EAA web site about Director Elections. You can read more about filing as a candidate from the Rivard Report here.

All of us who rely on the Edwards Aquifer as our primary source of water deserve to be represented by EAA Board members who take their duties seriously and support according the utmost protection to this marvelous resource.

Have a great weekend and stay hydrated!

Annalisa Peace

Executive Director
Greater Edwards Aquifer Alliance

You can donate to GEAA <u>on line</u> or mail a check to PO Box 15618, San Antonio, Texas 78212

You can always keep up with interesting water news on **GEAA's Face Book page**