

Member Organizations

Alamo, Austin, and Lone Star chapters of the Sierra Club

**Bexar Audubon Society** 

Austin, Bexar and Travis Green Parties

**Bexar Grotto** 

**Boerne Together** 

Bulverde Neighborhood Alliance

Bulverde Neighbors for Clean Water

Cibolo Nature Center

Citizens for the Protection of Cibolo Creek

**Comal County Conservation Alliance** 

**Environment Texas** 

First Universalist Unitarian Church of

San Antonio

Friends of Canyon Lake

Friends of Dry Comal Creek

Friends of Government Canyon

Fuerza Unida

Green Society of UTSA

Guadalupe River Road Alliance

**Guardians of Lick Creek** 

Headwaters at Incarnate Word

**Helotes Heritage Association** 

Hill Country Planning Association

Kendall County Well Owners Association

Kinney County Ground Zero

**Leon Springs Business Association** 

Medina County Environmental Action

Native Plant Society of Texas - SA

Northwest Interstate Coalition of Neighborhoods

Preserve Castroville

Preserve Lake Dunlop Association

Preserve Our Hill Country Environment

San Antonio Audubon Society

San Antonio Conservation Society

San Geronimo Valley Alliance

San Marcos Greenbelt Alliance

San Marcos River Foundation

Save Barton Creek Association

Save Our Springs Alliance

Scenic Loop/Boerne Stage Alliance

Securing a Future Environment

**SEED Coalition** 

Signal Hill Area Alliance

Solar San Antonio

Sisters of the Divine Providence

**Texas Cave Management Association** 

Trinity Edwards Spring Protection

Association

Water Aid – Texas State University Wildlife Rescue & Rehabilitation

Wimberley Valley Watershed Association

PO Box 15618 San Antonio, Texas 78212 (210) 320-6294

March 18, 2021

House Natural Resources Committee:

The Honorable Rep. Tracy O. King, Chair

The Honorable Rep. Cody Harris, Vice Chair

The Honorable Rep. Rhetta Andrews Bowers

The Honorable Rep. Kyle J. Kacal

The Honorable Rep. Lyle Larson

The Honorable Rep. Eddie Lucio III

The Honorable Rep. Dennis Paul

The Honorable Rep. Four Price

The Honorable Rep. Ana-Maria Ramos

The Honorable Rep. Armando Walle

The Honorable Rep. Terry M. Wilson

Sam Bacarisse

In support of HB 2225

I submit this letter of support on behalf of the 54 member organizations and thousands of individual members of the Greater Edwards Aquifer Alliance (GEAA).

By empowering Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TWDB) to encourage and facilitate dedication of water rights to preserve instream flows, water quality, fish and wildlife habitat, and flows to the bays and estuaries you will be taking a significant step toward ensuring sustainable management of our water resources.

Studies conducted by the Texas Water Development Board indicate that Texas will face daunting shortfalls in available water by 2070. Since many Texas waterways serve to recharge our groundwater supplies, especially our karst aguifers here in fast growing central Texas where infiltration through streams and rivers provide up to 75% of recharge to the Edwards Aquifer, efforts to maintain instream flows and water quality are particularly beneficial in contributing to the quality and quantity of groundwater available for future use.

GEAA has a member who has, for years, been trying to find means of converting a very generous amount of the water he is permitted to withdraw from the Guadalupe River to be dedicated in perpetuity to instream flow. Should you approve HB 22225, it will certainly facilitate trustworthy method of transfer by him and others like him.

Since water rights in Texas rivers are already over permitted, efforts to convert any amount of these rights to the Texas Water Trust under TWDB's management might diminish the prospect of future water conflicts.

We believe that maintaining, a much as possible, the natural regime of flows in our surface waters will result in great benefit to all Texans. We urge you to send this excellent bill on its way to becoming law.

Thank you for the opportunity to submit these comments. Should you have any questions or wish to discuss this further, please contact me at your convenience.

Respectfully,

andre Roa\_

Annalisa Peace Executive Director Greater Edwards Aquifer Alliance

CC: Scott Gilfillan

**Buffy Crownover** 

Ben Utley

Lynlie Wallace

Caroline Cone

McKenna Martinez

Kathy Haigler

Hal Talton

Hanna Lisenbe

Lawrence Zamarron

Rachel Piotrzkowski

Jordan Dickens

Rahul Sreenivasan

Wasiq Javed

Jeff Frazier